Skip to content

Forest Practices Authority

Forest Practices Tribunal

The Forest Practices Tribunal is an independent body that conducts hearings and responds to appeals. The following appeals may be lodged against decisions of the Forest Practices Authority:

  • an applicant for a Private Timber Reserve may appeal against the refusal of the private timber reserve
  • a prescribed person may appeal against the granting of a private timber reserve
  • an applicant for a forest practices plan may appeal against the refusal, amendment or variation of a plan
  • a person who is served a notice under s.41 of the Act may appeal against the notice
  • a person who has lodged a three-year plan may appeal against the variation or refusal of the three-year plan.

Tribunal members

Members are appointed by the Governor in accordance with s.34(1) of the Forest Practices Act 1985.

The Chief Chairman of the Forest Practices Tribunal is Keyran Pitt QC.

Current members are:

  • Keyran Pitt, Phillip Wright: barristers or legal practitioners who have practiced for at least five years.
  • Marcus Higgs, Bert Witte, Donald Francombe: persons with a sound and practical knowledge of forestry, road construction in forests, and harvesting of timber.
  • Robert Ellis, John Pretty, Rod Pearse: persons with tertiary qualifications and substantial practical experience in the sciences appropriate to land and forest management.
  • John Shoobridge, Neville Calvert, Robert Henry: persons with a sound knowledge of, and at least five years practical experience in, agriculture and forestry.
  • Gintaras Kantvilas, Louise Gilfedder, Ray Brereton: persons with a sound knowledge of, and at least five years practical experience in, conservation science.

Enquiries should be emailed or addressed to the Registrar of the Tasmanian Civil and Administrative Tribunal

38 Barrack Street, Hobart TAS 7000 | GPO Box 1311, Hobart TAS 7001(03) 6165 6790